Blogging 101 Lecture – Write it down


DAILY PROMPT: KEY TAKEAWAY

Have you ever found yourself realizing that earlier in the day you thought of something awesome, wacky, mind-blowing, out-of-the-box, or just plain old amazing? You then instantly feel so frustrated because you can’t picture exactly what it was or even recall the general idea and there you are stuck with what’s left of that moment – the vague and quickly fading memory of the elation and excitement you felt when you conceived that idea. Now you just wish you had written it down so you could remember it. Guess what? You should have.

Put yourself in the place of that idea you had. If it were a living thing, and call me crazy but I do believe ideas are, then you just killed it. There, I said it. I wasn’t going to sugarcoat it by telling you how sad it would feel because it was forgotten and not remembered (I know there’s a subtle difference between the two). Yes, it’s dead and you won’t be able to remember it again, at least not exactly how you came up with it the first time, which may be sad and interesting in its own right. The point is, you create something during that singular moment when your crazy-ass creativity tapped at all those stored up and stocked memories at the back of your head in response to a weird sort of trigger of a stimuli. In a way, it’s your child so don’t go ahead and be irresponsible with your minute-old baby! Be sure to take a snap shot by writing things down before it’s too late. Take a pause and do it; you owe yourself that.

You think writing down a great idea that is so good you couldn’t possibly forget it is such a hassle? Think again. Look at it this way, you wouldn’t have been able to read this piece if I hadn’t written it down after reading about the prompt on WP.

-Filds

P.S. Filds is going to be guest-writing here more often.
P.S.S. Filds is just me (in case you’re wondering).
P.S.S.S I’m not sure I’m using P.S. right.

Photo credit: JoelMontes / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

9 thoughts on “Blogging 101 Lecture – Write it down

  1. I try to keep my iPhone with me at all times and use the recorder when anything pops into my mind to blog about. Which is about every 5 minutes it seems. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I like your writing.

    1. That’s what I do with my phone too! And at the end of the day I try to write them down on my plain notebook. That way, I could leaf through those thoughts when I’m out of something to write about.
      Thanks and welcome!

  2. This was right on point. I had that experience just today. I know to right it down, but I didn’t take the time. Thanks for the visit and the like of my post “Soft Tulip Look”.

  3. I use my phone too but I hadn’t thought of the recorder– good one. I just use a note app and put in some key words…

    1. Right? The recorder is a good idea but listing the keywords works wonders too. It might just juggle new thoughts rather than getting the exact same one from hearing your own voice.
      Good job!

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more! I’ve got notebooks stashed all over the place (and I pretty much always keep a pen with me), because I never know when an idea will strike – but with my poor memory I know it probably won’t stay with me very long! 🙂

Leave a Reply

