Love’s Condition


Don’t call me naive for falling in love. And don’t pity me for having a broken-heart. These are love’s condition and the risk I took for that chance at happiness.

Love is for those who can stand up after they’ve fallen. After they’re broken and ruined. It is for those who will open their hearts once more and welcome it either as the stranger they bump into around the corner or as the friend who has always been there.

It is for those who will throw away their masks and show their vulnerabilities. The really courageous ones who are afraid but still go forward. The really strong ones who endure beyond the fear and the insecurities. The kind ones who listen, stay, and pray. The really tenacious ones who always hope for the good and the patient ones who wait for love.

Because until you’ve done and become all these and let yourself fall unconditionally, you have never truly loved. And until then, you’ve never really lived.

P.S.
I will love as I live.
For the moments I breathe,
my heart beats.
I take a step forward.

—-
For that love I buried.

Photo credit: thewhitestdogalive / Foter.com / CC BY-NC

16 thoughts on “Love’s Condition

  1. “Don’t call me naive for falling in love. And don’t pity me for having a broken-heart. These are love’s condition and the risk I took for that chance at happiness.” – Ever true πŸ™‚ Falling in love is magic!

  2. ika nga ‘It’s better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all’ πŸ˜‰
    at naalala ko tuloy nung first time ko ma-broken hearted. saklap. i wanted to give up on Love but NO – ‘it’s the lover, not the love’ (song by tiffany.)

      1. That is sweet.
        I did that for many years and then I found “that” person.
        As it turns out, that person doesn’t like to read poetry.
        So maybe I was doing it for me all along also. Or perhaps I still am. πŸ™‚
        But I hope in your case you find her.

    1. I can’t even begin to describe what it’s like to “fall” and be “in love”. What I can say is that there’s a change in how you see things, how you feel everything around you, like the very earth you stand on shifts and inspiration is the very air you breath. It’s a many different things and yet the only thing that’s really changed is your heart.

      1. I have imagined it many times…thought I was there once but wasn’t….look forward to it with giddy anticipation…hope to meet it before I take my last breath but know that if I don’t, I won’t know what I missed…Thank you for the beautiful description…

      2. There’s so much love in the world, I know you’ll know love when it’s revealed itself to you just as soon as you let it. It’s one of life’s mysteries and that makes it all the more precious. πŸ™‚

      3. Oh I know, feel and show love…I love everyone…I’m a very loving person…I have just never experienced that “weak in the knees” “heart all a flutter” “can’t live without them” kind of “in love” love…

Leave a Reply

