A little envy, a lot of love


aurelio.asiain / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

    Is it envy when you want something so bad that it eats you inside and leaves a gaping hole because you are so caught up in the idea that you could never fulfill that want. Then you turn bitter because you are so chained to the thought that you could not achieve your dreams? If so, then I  am positively green with envy.

   I want that spark in your eyes when you see your love and that pride in your voice and the puff of your chest when you talk about the recent turn in your relationship. And the wider your smile and as the pink blush on your cheeks form I turn green inside, the green of the moist moss clinging on damp, shaded, and cold rock. Though my eyes sparkle with the customary congratulations and mirth, it is wet with the tears that will fall once I turn then mask it as tears of joy as I face back.

    I’ve loved you before you’ve even met, and I tell myself I’m entitled for a tear or two. But that is all I could allow my self at that moment of envy, for both of you are precious to me. Because you trusted me with your woes and your hardships, I stand witness to your love that is as warm as the sunlight and just as bright. And as I remember these, the green in my heart breaks and gives way for the jeers and the cheers. The customary congratulations become filled with true happiness and the tears stream for joy. And the hole in my heart just makes it lighter.

Updated for Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster

16 thoughts on “A little envy, a lot of love

  1. I agree with your self-assessment: fluent poetic writing with good word choices and quirky, intelligent observations.

    1. Thanks. I could only get credit for the writing though; the photo I grabbed from flickr. I did a quick research and found out that this photo was taken from the moss garden at the Sanzenin Temple of the rural town of Ohara around the Kyoto district in Japan. It’s a really zen and spiritual place and I just love the photos from there. I wish I could visit it one day.

      1. It does, doesn’t it? You should see other pictures of the place. The temples and trees and the ponds make it a completely different world. Yup, i’m pretty sure it is an enchanted place 😉

  2. Gosh – I don;t know if I like your words or your photo better … good job. Anyhoo, just seeing what others wrote on jealousy -this is one of my favorite prompts!

Leave a Reply

